RH254: Red Hat System Administration – III

The course is focused on deploying and managing network servers running caching Domain Name Service (DNS), MariaDB, Apache HTTPD, Postfix SMTP nullclients, network file sharing with Network File System (NFS) and Server Message Block (SMB), iSCSI initiators and targets, advanced networking and firewall configurations, and the use of Bash shell scripting to help automate, configure, and troubleshoot the system. Through lectures and hands-on labs, students who have already earned the RHCSA certification will be exposed to all competencies covered by the Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) exam (EX300).

RHCSA certification or equivalent experience
For candidates who have not earned their RHCSA certification, confirmation of the correct skills and knowledge can be obtained by passing the online skills assessment.

Target Audience
Red Hat System Administration III is intended for experienced Linux administrators wishing to learn enterprise-level automation techniques through scripting, how to deploy and secure network services, and how to manage other key security features of Red Hat Enterprise Linux. Students in this course should have earned their RHCSA or have equivalent skills.

Duration: 4 days (Full-time)

Training Fee: Rs.10,000/- (Plus GST)

Course Outline

Unit 1: Control services and daemons
Review how to manage services and the boot-up process using systemctl

Unit 2: Manage IPv6 networking
Configure and troubleshoot basic IPv6 networking on Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems

Unit 3: Configure link aggregation and bridging
Configure and troubleshoot advanced network interface functionality including bonding, teaming, and local software bridges

Unit 4: Control network port security
Permit and reject access to network services using advanced SELinux and firewalld filtering techniques

Unit 5: Manage DNS for servers
Set and verify correct DNS records for systems and configure secure DNS caching

Unit 6: Configure email delivery
Relay all email sent by the system to an SMTP gateway for central delivery

Unit 7: Provide block-based storage
Provide and use networked iSCSI block devices as remote disks

Unit 8: Provide file-based storage
Provide NFS exports and SMB file shares to specific systems and users

Unit 9: Configure MariaDB databases
Provide a MariaDB SQL database for use by programs and database administrators

Unit 10: Provide Apache HTTPD web service
Configure Apache HTTPD to provide Transport Layer Security (TLS)-enabled websites and virtual hosts

Unit 11: Write Bash scripts
Write simple shell scripts using Bash

Unit 12: Bash conditionals and control structures
Use Bash conditionals and other control structures to write more sophisticated shell commands and scripts

Unit 13: Configure the shell environment
Customize Bash startup and use environment variables, Bash aliases, and Bash functions

Unit 14: Linux containers preview
Preview the capabilities of Linux containers, Docker, and other related technologies in Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7

Unit 15: Comprehensive review
Practice and demonstrate knowledge and skills learned in Red Hat System Administration III

Print Friendly, PDF & Email